weight loss journey · Whole30

Sticking to the Whole30 While Traveling!

I was happily clicking away at nearly 100 days of eating Whole30ish.  Whole30ish meaning I ate two Whole30 compliant meals a day in addition to the breakfast shake, that I absolutely love, with Whole30 compliant healthy ingredients.   The shake is gluten free, dairy free, soy free and doesn’t have added sugar. I add ½ an avocado, 1 cup of blueberries, 1 cup of spinach, and 1 cup of cashew milk). **Shakes are not allowed on the Whole30.

Loving the Whole30 NSV’s

While my weight loss hasn’t been as substantial as I would like, I was thoroughly enjoying the way my body composition was transforming and loved to seeing myself shrink.  Most of all, I was loving the way I felt and the endless list of Non-Scale Victories (NSV’s).   I seemed like a “Whole30 new and improved” version of myself with better:

  • Memory
  • Mental clarity
  • Energy
  • Mood
  • Sleep
  • Periods
  • Complexion

I was also enjoying my new life sans headaches, muscle pains, and acid reflux.

And Then Came the Travel Plans

Enter the Best Year Ever Conference.   The conference was rapidly approaching, and I was getting nervous.  There is nothing like a little business travel, coupled with twelve hour days, and a three hour time difference to throw a perfectly good diet off course.   To make things both better and worse, the conference was in San Diego, home of some of my absolute most favorite restaurants.

Whole30 Travel Snacks

I’ve never been much of a planner, but I found myself brainstorming and decided to pack some of my healthy convenient food for the trip.  I packed my protein shake, RX Bars, Performance Nut Butter, DNX Bars, and LonoLife bone broth.

Healthy Travel Snacks

Healthy Travel Snacks

By the time I boarded the plane for my five-hour flight, I was pretty impressed with myself because my snacks quickly came in handy. Instead of eating overly priced tasteless airline food, I was able to pull out my healthy food.

Healthy Gluten- Free, Dairy Free Travel Snacks

Healthy Gluten – Free, Dairy Free Travel Snacks

 

Four Days Later

Over the next four days in San Diego, I went out to eat for one great healthy Whole30ish meal a day and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  I ate the food I packed for the other two meals.  I loved having my own healthy food and it left me feeling in control.

So, to answer the question, Is it possible to stay on track with a Whole30ish diet while traveling?  Yes! I did it and you can too!

Leave a comment